Tribal Infrastructure Fund Board

Section 6-29-5 NMSA 1978:

Adopt rules governing terms, conditions and priorities for providing financial assistance to tribes, including developing application and evaluation procedures and forms and qualifications for applicants and projects; provide financial assistance to tribes for qualified projects; authorize funding for qualified projects, including: (1) planning designing, constructing, improving, expanding or equipping water and wastewater facilities, major water systems, electrical power lines, communications infrastructures, roads, health infrastructure, emergency response facilities and infrastructure needed to encourage economic development; (2) developing engineering feasibility reports; (3) inspecting the construction of qualified projects; (4) providing special engineering services; (5) completing environmental assessments or archaeological clearances and other surveys; (6) acquiring land, easements or rights of way; and (7) paying the legal costs and fiscal agent fees associated with the development of qualified projects.

Source: Inventory of Statutory Executive Boards and Commissions, Legislative Council Service 2010 Update

Past Board Meetings

Board Members

Voting Members:

  1. James R. Mountain, Cabinet Secretary Designate, Board Chair
    New Mexico Indian Affairs Department
  2. Wesley Billingsley, Designee
    New Mexico Department of Finance and Administration
  3. Judi L. Kahl, Designee
    New Mexico Environment Department
  4. Michael Vonderheide, Designee
    New Mexico Finance Authority
  5. Janet Johnson, Designee
    New Mexico Department of Health
  6. Mark Thompson, Pueblo of Acoma
    Pueblo Representative
    Navajo Nation Representative
  8. Romaine Wood
    Jicarilla Apache Representative
  9. Bernalyn Via
    Mescalero Apache Representative


Non-Voting Members:

  1. Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs Representative, Albuquerque Office, Vacant
  2. Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs Representative, Navajo Regional Office, Vacant
  3. Albuquerque Area Indian Health Services Representative, Gretchen Tsosie, P.E., PMP
  4. Navajo Area Indian Health Services Representative, Vacant